Baseball History for August 19th

<— AUG 18     AUG 20 —>


1858 Phil Coridan
1861 Joe Cantillon
1863 Clarence Stephens
1870 Tom Williams
1878 Billy Milligan
1884 R.B. “Speed” Kelly
1888 Mike Murphy
1891 Al DeVormer
1891 James Earl “Ike” McAuley
1891 Herbert Hill
1892 James Lamar “Rags” Faircloth
1893 Jim Shaw
1903 Estel Crabtree
1906 James Otto “Tex” Carleton
1910 Atley Donald
1912 Les Rock
1915 Bill Nagel
1928 Jim Finigan
1935 Bobby Richardson
1937 Jim Lehew
1941 Fred Lasher
1948 John Boles
1949 Paul Mitchell
1950 Mike Phillips
1951 Luis Gomez
1952 Tim Blackwell
1954 Ned Yost
1954 Reggie Baldwin
1955 Terry Harper
1955 Silvio Martinez
1956 Ron Roenicke
1957 Scott Meyer
1957 David Palmer
1958 Luis DeLeon
1958 Gary Gaetti
1960 James Odell “Sap” Randall
1960 Ron Darling
1961 Mark Ciardi
1966 Gregory Scott “Woody” Williams
1967 Scott Fredrickson
1969 Matt Franco
1969 Miguel Jimenez
1970 Jeff Tam
1972 Jed Hansen
1973 Britt Reames
1974 Brian Cooper
1975 Juan Sosa
1977 Matt White
1978 Chris Capuano
1978 Eude Brito
1979 Rocky Cherry
1980 Lance Cormier
1982 J. J. Hardy
1984 Marcos Carvajal
1985 Josh Fields
1986 Austin Adams


1897 Jim McKeever
1908 Doc Bushong
1910 Bill Lennon
1924 Bill Keister
1926 George Cobb
1937 Bunk Congalton
1942 Jesse Duryea
1946 Bob McKinney
1948 Fred Odwell
1951 Ollie Hanson
1952 George McAvoy
1963 Carl Zamloch
1965 Larry Jacobus
1969 John Hollison
1969 Alex Carrasquel
1974 Augie Bergamo
1976 Johnny Walker
1977 Chuck Wortman
1977 Bob Klinger
1999 Dee Fondy
2014 Jackie Mayo


1880 Larry Corcoran of Chicago throws a no hitter – the third of the season (following Lee Richmond and Monte Ward). Corcoran would repeat the trick in 1882 and 1884.

1900 Rube Waddell tosses a complete game, 17 inning win over the White Sox for Milwaukee. Connie Mack convinces Rube to pitch in the second game of the double-header, offering a day fishing if he wins, and Rube wins game two, 1 – 0, in five innings.

1921 Ty Cobb gets his 3,000th hit off of Elmer Myers in a game against the Red Sox.

1934 In the first day of a double-header, Moose Solters collected four hits and completed the cycle.

1951 Eddie Gaedel, wearing the number 1/8, pinch hits for the St. Louis Browns. He draws a walk.

Eddie Gaedel

1965 Jim Maloney tosses a no-hitter to beat the Cubs in Wrigley Field, 1 – 0, in ten innings.

1969 Ken Holtzman beats Phil Niekro, beating the Braves and tossing a no-hitter without striking out a single batter.


1912 Philadelphia buys Bullet Joe Bush from Missoula of the Union Association.

1915 New York purchases Rube Benton from the Reds for $3000.

1930 Chicago buys Luke Appling from Atlanta of the Southern Association. (That worked out pretty good…)

1951 St. Louis signs amateur free agent Eddie Gaedel.

1955 Amateur free agent signings include George Altman (Cubs) and Lindy McDaniel (Cardinals).

1969 The White Sox signed amateur free agent Brian Downing.

1983 Los Angeles sends Dave Stewart to Texas for Rick Honeycutt – then adds Ricky Wright as the player to be named later.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s