Baseball History for August 7th

<— AUG 06     08 AUG —>


1858 William P. (Sparrow) Morton
1859 Al Bauer
1862 Jim Gray
1864 William H. (Adonis) Terry
1871 Otis Stocksdale
1876 Lou Nordyke
1876 Pat Carney
1883 Tom Richardson
1886 Bill McKechnie
1887 Chet Nourse
1895 Ed Gill
1899 Ted Wingfield
1899 Guy Sturdy
1905 Jim Cronin
1907 Clarence Heise
1908 Clyde Hatter
1912 Tom Drake
1915 Les Fleming
1922 Bob Alexander
1927 Everett Lamar (Rocky) Bridges
1927 Art Houtteman
1929 Don Larsen
1931 Ray Crone
1936 Ron Henry
1936 Jerry McNertney
1936 Robert Sidney (Tex) Nelson
1942 Gary Dotter
1950 Mike Poepping
1951 Charlie Chant
1951 Jim Sadowski
1954 Steve Kemp
1955 Steve Senteney
1962 John Trautwein
1967 Jason Grimsley
1969 Brian Kowitz
1969 Stan Spencer
1970 Greg Pirkl
1970 Marc Pisciotta
1970 Rich Croushore
1972 Kerry Lacy
1973 Danny Graves
1975 Geronimo Gil
1976 Edgar Renteria
1977 Tyler Yates
1984 Wade LeBlanc
1986 Jordan Danks
1987 Ryan Lavarnway
1987 Josh Smith
1987 Rafael Ynoa
1987 Kirk Nieuwenhuis
1989 Tommy Kahnle
1990 Jose Dominguez
1990 Tony Zych
1990 Carter Capps
1991 Mike Trout
1992 Jose Deleon
1992 Michael Perez


1893 John Kenney
1917 Bill Loughran
1926 Moose Baxter
1930 Emmett Seery
1945 Bobby Veach
1946 Tad Quinn
1948 Charlie Wacker
1951 Bill Wynne
1951 Biff Wysong
1953 Abner Powell
1956 Hughie Tate
1959 Ben Dyer
1959 Bill McGill
1965 Walt Whittaker
1972 Red Anderson
1973 Wilbur Cooper
1985 Johnny Rucker
1991 Jimmy Cooney
2003 Mickey McDermott
2010 Keith Drumright
2017 Don Baylor


1963 Jim Hickman is the first Met to hit for the cycle (he did it against the Cardinals) – and he did it in order starting with a single…

1978 Both Mel Allen and Red Barber are the first two broadcasters added to the Hall of Fame as recipients of the Ford C. Frick Award.

1999 Wade Boggs homers for this 3000th hit.

2004 Chicago’s Greg Maddux wins his 300th game; the Cubs topped the Giants.

2007 Barry Bonds homers off Mike Bacsik of the Nationals, his 756th career shot which passes Hank Aaron.

2016 Ichiro Suzuki’s triple in Colorado is the 3000th hit of his MLB career.


1904 The Giants send Moose McCormick to the Pirates; the Pirates send Jimmy Sebring to the Reds, who then send Mike Donlin to the Giants.

1913 Boston purchases Dolph Luque from Long Branch of the New York-New Jersey League.

1958 Pittsburgh signs amateur free agent outfielder Willie Stargell.

1961 Detroit signs amateur free agent outfielder Willie Horton.

1964 Philadelphia sends Gary Kroll and Wayne Graham to the Mets for Frank Thomas.

2015 Cleveland sends Michael Bourn and Nick Swisher (and $) to the Braves for Chris Johnson.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s