Baseball History for July 24th

<— JULY 23     JULY 25 —>


1850 Joe Miller
1851 Dick Higham
1863 Tommy McCarthy
1864 Jack Clements
1868 Billy Graulich
1871 Harvey Smith
1873 Joe Wall
1875 Jesse Stovall
1878 Chris Lindsay
1893 Joe Schultz
1900 Jim Lyle
1901 Bob Adams
1905 Ed Montague
1912 Alex Carrasquel
1916 Dick Hahn
1916 Al Flair
1921 Clint Conatser
1922 Duane Pillette
1924 Tod Davis
1927 Preston Ward
1940 Ethan Blackaby
1942 Charles Francis (Cotton) Nash
1948 Mike Adams
1952 Jerry Augustine
1960 Jeff Kaiser
1964 Barry Bonds
1965 Joe Oliver
1968 Rob Lukachyk
1972 Shawn Wooten
1973 Stephen Larkin
1973 Norihiro Nakamura
1975 Bill Ortega
1976 Nate Bump
1977 Jason Smith
1979 Ryan Speier
1983 Guilder Rodriguez
1986 Scott Van Slyke
1986 Miguel Socolovich


1887 Alex McKinnon
1899 Jim Korwan
1900 Fred Zahner
1901 Joe Simmons
1904 Ernie Mason
1919 Ed Bagley
1921 Bill Dugan
1929 George Miller
1932 Tom Quinn
1935 Billy Crowell
1951 Ed Fisher
1958 Virgil Barnes
1963 Luther Roy
1970 Harvey Green
1971 Harry Suter
1978 Joel Hunt
1982 Lin Storti
1985 Ted Kleinhans
1988 Joe Orengo
1988 Jerry Lane
1989 Wally Kimmick
1990 Andy Woehr
1991 Howie Carter
1993 George Armstrong
2002 Barney White
2002 Pete Coscarart
2002 Al Silvera
2011 Mike Palm
2016 Steve Nagy
2018 Vaughn Eshelman

Kidney and liver failure claimed him. Eshelman died of complications a few months following a liver transplant.

2018 Tony Cloninger


1931 Babe Herman hits for the cycle – again! His third cycle occurred just ten days after his second one…

1948 A bus carrying the Duluth baseball team crashes head-on into an ice truck on HWY 36 near St. Paul, killing five players and injuring nineteen others. After impact, the bus tumbled into a ditch where the gasoline tank ruptured and started a fire. Thankfully, passersby helped pull several players out of the wreckage before the heat made it impossible to get the remaining three people out of the bus.

“Four Baseball Players Killed In Bus Crash”, Asbury Park Press, 25 July 1948, Pages 14, 15.


1986 Los Angeles signs amateur free agent infielder Jose Offerman.

2001 Texas sends Andres Galarraga to the Giants for Erasmo Ramirez, Chris Magruder, and minor leaguer Todd Ozias.

2009 Oakland sends Matt Holiday to the Cardinals for Clayton Mortenson, Brett Wallace, and Shane Peterson.

2018 Baltimore sends Zack Britton to the Yankees for Dillon Tate, Josh Rogers, and Cody Carroll.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s