Baseball History for September 20th

<— SEP 19     SEP 21 —>


1847 Jim Price
1860 Henry Boyle
1861 George Pechiney
1871 Bill Coyle
1878 Larry Schlafly
1881 James Harvey (Red) Bowser
1893 Frederick Renshaw (Doc) Wallace
1893 Jack Bradley
1894 Chuck Dressen
1899 Nelson Greene
1899 Karl Schnell
1908 Henry John (Zeke) Bonura
1912 Tony DePhillips
1912 Al McLean
1916 John Samuel (Red) Juelich
1922 Vic Lombardi
1938 Tom Tresh
1941 Dennis Ribant
1943 Rich Morales
1944 Ed Phillips
1945 Mike Jurewicz
1946 Roric Harrison
1947 Pete Hamm
1952 Jim Wilhelm
1954 Mickey Klutts
1954 Bob Detherage
1956 Mike Gates
1958 Jim Siwy
1960 Dave Gallagher
1960 Randy Kramer
1968 Donnie Elliott
1970 Chris Snopek
1975 Yovanny Lara
1976 Kevin Walker
1978 Jason Bay
1981 Jordan Tata
1983 Angel Sanchez
1985 Ian Desmond
1985 Kevin Mattison
1986 A. J. Ramos
1988 Steve Lombardozzi
1989 Scott Snodgress
1990 Ken Giles
1992 Jeffrey  Springs


1896 Ed Crane
1906 Jack Neagle
1909 Joe Wright
1910 Lou Schiappacasse
1914 Levin Jones
1919 Cy Seymour
1937 Harry Stovey
1946 Wiley Piatt
1955 Art Herman
1956 Tom Gastall

Gastall was a letter winner in three sports at Boston University, a teammate of Harry Agganis – Agannis would throw touchdown passes to Gastall in college.  They also both died way too soon.  Gastall died in a plane crash flying the over Chesapeake – he was just 24.  Malcom Allen, as good a story-teller as the Society for American Baseball Research has, penned his bio.

1961 Jim McGinley
1970 Oliver Hill
1970 Fred Lamlein
1973 Jim Bishop
1974 Al Huenke
1975 Chuck Tompkins
1981 Harry Fisher
1990 Dick Gyselman
1991 Chet Morgan
1991 Steve Peek
1997 Jim Hickey
2001 George Archie
2001 Joe Stephenson
2007 John Sullivan
2010 Al Pilarcik
2010 Jack Cassini
2013 Walt Linden
2017 Mickey Harrington
2017 Garry Hill
2017 Ed Phillips


1902 Nixey Callahan tosses the first no-hitter in White Sox history, blanking the Detroit Tigers, 2 – 0.

1907 Pirate Nick Maddox holds the Dodgers hitless, winning 2 – 1. It was the first Pirate no-hitter, and he was the last Pirate to throw a no-hitter in Pittsburgh until 1976, when John Candelaria turned the trick.

1908 A run in the ninth gives the White Sox a win over the Athletics; Frank Smith wins his duel with Eddie Plank while firing his second career no-hitter.

1951 Ford Frick is named the third commissioner of Major League Baseball.

1958 Hoyt Wilhelm beats the Yankees, 1 – 0 – for the Orioles hurler, it’s his first career no-hitter.

1969 Bob Moose blanks the Mets, 4 – 0, without allowing a hit…

1986 Tony Gwynn steals five bases in a loss to Houston.

1992 Phillies second sacker Mickey Morandini catches a liner, steps on second and tags Barry Bonds, who had been running from first base, to complete an unassisted triple play.


1889 Indianapolis purchases Jesse Burkett and Tug Wilson from Worcester of the Atlantic Association for $2500.

1917 Among those taken in the Rule 5 Draft were Jimmy Dykes (by the Philadelphia Athletics from Gettysburg in the Blue Ridge League) and Irish Meusel (by the Phillies from Los Angeles in the Pacific Coast League).

1979 California purchases Ralph Garr from the Chicago White Sox.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s