Baseball History for February 12th

<— FEBRUARY 11     FEBRUARY 13 —>


1851 Chick Fulmer
1864 Jim Fogarty
1879 Harry Arndt
1879 Pants Rowland
1885 Bill Mack
1888 Ray Miller
1889 Art Thomason
1889 George Cochran
1892 Tom Rogers
1893 Earl Sheely
1893 George Stutz
1895 Abraham Lincoln (Sweetbreads) Bailey
1896 Dobie Moore

Moore was a great member of the Kansas City Monarchs, batted ,.350 in the games for which data exists – and some power.  He was nearly 50% better than the average Negro Leagues hitter in the 1920s.

1901 Virgil Cheeves
1902 Kiddo Davis
1903 Chick Hafey
1903 Andy Harrington
1912 Linc Blakely
1914 Leslie Green
1917 Dom DiMaggio

In the summer of 1977, my dad flew our family to San Francisco to spend a week of vacation there. The primary reason for visiting was to spend time with his father, who he hadn’t actually seen in probably twenty years.

His father owned a motel on the outskirts of town – had a big pool (too cold, really, to swim in) and my brother and I got to sleep in our own room.

One day, the boys were taken by my grandfather down to a lounge in downtown San Francisco – had a pool table off to the side – where he used to spend considerable time. I had my first Shirley Temple there. While sitting at the bar, my grandfather told me that he would like to introduce me to one of the greatest Red Sox outfielders ever. In my mind, I was thinking I was about to meet Fred Lynn or Carl Yastrzemski or Jim Rice or Dwight Evans. Instead, a smallish man about sixty years old comes over. “Paul – I know you are a big baseball fan. Well, the best centerfielder the Red Sox ever had was this fella right here… Dom DiMaggio.”

I shook his hand, but my interest ended about there. I mean – he wasn’t Fred Lynn. Today, of course, I can brag about meeting Dom DiMaggio, but at the time – as a twelve year old with a limited knowledge of baseball history – I had no idea how cool that really was.

1918 Monk Dubiel
1921 Don Bollweg
1922 Mike Clark
1922 Woody Main
1923 Hank Baylis
1926 Joe Garagiola

My stepfather looked a lot like Joe Garagiola, but he couldn’t work behind the plate.

1937 Stan Johnson
1939 Jim Lawrence
1939 Jerry Walker
1941 Mike Joyce
1942 Pat Dobson
1942 Steve Bailey
1943 Paul Edmondson
1945 Don Wilson
1948 Frank Estrada
1949 Enzo Hernandez
1949 Len Randle
1949 Ray Corbin
1951 Don Stanhouse
1953 Dave Revering
1955 Juan Bonilla
1955 Greg Johnston
1955 Gene Krug
1955 Chet Lemon
1955 Steve Mura
1956 Brian Denman
1957 Steve Brown
1958 Ken Smith
1958 Jim Beswick
1964 Joe Bitker
1964 Cameron Drew
1965 Dennis Springer
1965 Ruben Amaro
1965 Stan Fansler
1966 Jeff Pico

Pico threw a shutout in his first start. His career peaked right there (actually, he threw a second shutout, but you get the point) and he fell off the map in a couple of years. He’s a pitching coach in the Reds chain now.

1977 Gary Knotts
1978 Tim Redding
1980 Adam Stern
1981 Chris Snyder
1985 Cole De Vries
1986 Brandon Allen
1986 Todd Frazier
1987 Argenis Diaz
1987 David Cooper
1988 Josh Phegley
1991 Reymond Fuentes
1992 Jordan Patterson
1992 Jerry Vasto
1993 James Naile
1995 Jake Fishman


1885 Nealy Phelps
1920 Mike Goodfellow
1932 John Shearon
1934 Rowdy Elliott
1939 George Fair
1943 Bart Cantz
1952 Charlie Manlove
1959 Dode Paskert
1961 Lefty Atkinson
1962 Dick Wheeler
1964 Ted Pawelek
1964 Al Pierotti
1967 Dutch Distel
1967 Bob Rhoads
1968 Johnny Siegle
1972 Jim Sullivan
1975 Dutch Mele
1979 Bill Vargus
1979 Ernest Duff
1980 Carl Howard
1982 Dale Alderson
1983 Bob Saunders
1985 Van Mungo
1989 Euel Moore
1994 Ray Dandridge
1997 Francis Healy
2003 Dick Whitman
2003 Haywood Sullivan
2003 Wally Burnette
2009 Ted Uhlaender
2010 Jerry Fahr
2011 Gino Cimoli
2018 Rudy Regalado
2022 Calvin Jones


1878 Fredrick Thayer receives a patent for the catcher’s mask – based on a fencing mask.

2002 MLB takes over ownership of the Montreal Expos after allowing that owner (Jeffrey Loria) to purchase the Florida Marlins (thanks to a big MLB loan).


1969 Pittsburgh signs amateur free agent infielder Rennie Stennett.

1988 San Diego sends Rich Gossage and Ray Hayward to the Cubs for Keith Moreland and Mike Brumley.

2016 Milwaukee sends Khris Davis to Oakland for Jacob Nottingham and Bubba Derby.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s